Founding Minutes - October 1972

Minutes of proposed International Skeletal Society Held in the Hemisphere Room, Washington Hilton Hotel at the annual meeting of the American Roentgen Ray Society,
October 4. 1972 4:30pm to 6:00pm

Present were: Dr Jack Bowerman, Baltimore, Maryland; Dr Murray Dalinka, Philadelphia, Pa; Dr Jack Edeiken, Philadelphia, Pa; Frieda Feldman, New York City; Dr Richard Gold, San Francisco, California; Dr George B Greenfield, Chicago Illinois; Dr Philip Hodes, Miami, Florida; Dr Harold G Jacobson, Bronx, New York; Dr Herbert Kaufmann, Philadelphia Pa; Dr John Kirkpatrick, Philadelphia, Pa; Dr Gwilym Lodwick, Columbia, Missouri; Dr Ronald O Murray, London, England; Dr Sidney W Nelson, Columbus, Ohio; Dr Maurice Reeder, Washington, DC; Dr Stanley Siegelman,Bronx, New York; Dr Thomas W Staple, St Louis, Missouri; and Dr Elias G Theros, Bethesda, Maryland.

Dr Harold Jacobson briefly outlined the purpose of this initial organisational meeting which was intended primarily to exchange ideas regarding the formation and establishment of a radiologically-oriented skeletal society, international in scope, the major interest of which would be the dissemination of information pertaining to the skeleton. Dr Jacobson described the Fleischner Society meeting and seminar which he attended in May of this year “a society dedicated to diseases of the chest”. Dr Jacobson felt that this society might serve as a model for the foundation of a Skeletal Society.

Dr Ronald Murray of London, England, indicated to the group that the ultimate success which might accrue from such an organisation would have to depend upon a symbiotic alliance and inclusion of members in the allied fields of orthopaedics, pathology and skeletal physiology to which all present agreed. It was Dr Murray’s suggestion that this new society might follow the pattern of the British Orthopaedic Society which is comprised of two categorical breakdowns of members ie 1. the senior (older) or Founding Fellows; and 2. associate members who would eventually be elected to Fellowship.

Dr Murray also felt that membership in the society should be limited to those clinicians who spent at least 50% of their time in the field of bone radiology. Dr Jacobson suggested that membership should be confined to two categories, eliminating age as a point of consideration. It was his feeling also that there should be two classes of membership consisting of members who would constitute the senior people in the field of radiology (and allied fields) and associate members who would consist of junior people in the field. The determination of these two categories could be evaluated by years of service, contributions to the literature etc.

The question was also raised by those present as to whether this Society would want to open its doors to everyone interested in joining or whether it should be restricted to a small select group of about 60 members. Also questioned were the goals of the Society. Would Refresher Courses and/or seminars be held?

Dr Jack Edeiken favoured the concept of a small, intimate and preferential group of members with rigorous prerequisites for membership, with the function and purpose of teaching and stimulating young radiologists to eventually seek membership in such a society.

The matter of a suitable name for this proposed skeletal organisation was introduced and although some ideas were offered, it was decided that for the present the society would be referred to as “The International Skeletal Society.”

It was reported that 68 physicians had been either recommended or approached for initial membership in the newly contemplated organisation with the following breakdown:

46 radiologists, the vast majority of whom were in favour of its formation and wanted to be members

11 pathologists, of whom 9 accepted

8 orthopaedists, of whom 5 accepted

3 skeletally-oriented internists, none of whom responded

Dr Jacobson read some of the names of the prominent authorities in their fields who were contacted and who had indicated a willingness to be part of the membership group. Several other names were mentioned for possible inclusion.

It was the unanimous decision of those present that this new Society should have two categories of members – Fellows and Members. The possibility of having a third group of Associate Members was discussed but this matter was held in abeyance.

Dr Kaufmann made the recommendation that a seven member Steering Committee also be appointed to meet in the near future to work out details regarding governance, dues, membership, Refresher Courses etc.

The following were elected to be part of the Steering Committee:

Jack Edeiken, MD

Harold G Jacobson, MD (Chairman)

Herbert Kaufmann, MD

Gwilym Lodwick, MD

Ronald O Murray, MD

Maurice Reeder, MD

Elias G Theros, MD

A meeting of the Steering Committee is being planned sometime before the Radiological Society of North America meeting in Chicago. Hopefully, there will be a meeting of the Committee in Chicago and a report given on its accomplishments.
The meeting was adjourned at 6:00pm.