ISS Seed Grant

2019-20 ISS Seed Grant in Musculoskeletal Imaging and Pathology 


The International Skeletal Society establishes two annual US$25,000 seed grants for the 2019/2020 fiscal year with an emphasis on interdisciplinary research and collaboration. 


The Pilot Seed Grant competition is only open to clinical scientists at or just beyond the postgraduate, fellow and junior faculty levels working in Musculoskeletal Imaging or Pathology research in academia or research institutions. 

Typical applicants are expected to be residents, fellows, or junior faculty up to 10 years after doctoral degree (e.g., M.D. or comparable). 

Projects including fellows and residents will be preferred. The applicant would be expected to be in a position to do independent mentored research. Preferential consideration to those mentored by ISS Members. 

A letter of confirming this will be required from the applicant's supervisor, mentor, or department head. 

The applicant has to describe his or her plans of a long term academic commitment. 

Preferential consideration will be given to Junior persons with a track record of the ISS activities. 

Project scope 

  1. Collaborative and interdisciplinary projects 
  2. Pilot studies 
  3. Feasibility studies 
  4. Outcomes research 


Application process 

To be considered for this Seed Grant, the application must include: 

  • Name(s) of Investigator(s) (The role of each investigator must be clearly articulated and percentage contribution of each clearly described) 
  • Institution 
  • Description of the Research (Five-page maximum: Aims, Significance of the project and Hypothesis, Background and any preliminary data, and Comprehensive Research Methods). Within the research methods and 5-page limit, include a Timeline (including a description of the research milestones you intend to achieve and when: 1/2 page maximum.) This can be graphical or text. Figures count towards the 5-page limit. References do not count towards the 5-page limit. 
  • Please include a Bio Sketch with your application. 
  • Budget, as detailed as possible, not included in the 5-page limit. Salary support for the Principal Investigator is not allowed, and institutions may only charge 8% overhead to the grant (i.e., direct costs minimum is US $22,500). Please provide a justification for each budgeted item. Support for undergraduate or graduate students, post-docs, residents and fellows is allowed. Exclusions: Administrative salaries, computers, tuition, travel, membership fees, and equipment larger than $5000 USD. 
  • The grant needs to be spent within one year after receiving it. If unavoidable, a formal request for extension of a maximum of one year can to be addressed to the Evaluation Committee. 
  • Description of applicants’ current employment position and how these grant funds and resources will be used to leverage future grants, provide early impact on academic career, (and describe any internal or external sources of funding for this research, either existing, applied for, and/or plans to apply): One (1) page maximum, not included in the 5-page limit. 
  • Describe any conflicts of interest 
  • Please attach IRB approval if available. Preferential treatment will be given to projects with IRB approval. 
  • Up to three letters of support may be included 


  • The deadline for submission for research proposals is February 1, 2020. 
  • Awards will be announced April 1, 2020. 
  • Awards will be distributed before May 31, 2020. 

The successful applicants will be awarded before the end of the fiscal year and announced at the ISS Scientific Meeting in 2020. At the completion of work, the investigators would be asked to present the results of this work at the ISS Scientific Session in 2021, and the results submitted for publication in Skeletal Radiology.

The Chair of the Pilot Seed Grant Review Committee is Garry Gold, MD.





Congratulations to the ISS 2017-2018 Seed Grant Awardees, Shivani Ahlawat, MD, Assistant Professor of Radiology at Johns Hopkins Department of Radiology and Radiological Sciences with his proposed Quantitative Functional and Metabolic Whole-Body Imaging in Patients with Neurofibromatosis type 1 and Darryl Sneag, MD, Assistant Professor, Hospital for Special Surgery and Weill Medical College Cornell and his proposed Novel Contrast Enhanced Vascular Suppression Techniques in MR Neurography

There was a great deal of competition as dozens of top quality proposals were submitted.